As I’ve mentioned before, I have an extremely talented mother, especially when it comes to sewing. She tried to get me involved as a kid and even bought me a sewing machine. Unfortunately, I was a complete tomboy and didn’t show much interest.

Over the years as an adult I’ve tried to teach myself to sew with limited success which I’ve come to realise has at least in part been due to bad tools. For a long time I was trying to sew with an ancient second hand machine that insisted on swallowing my fabric and knotting up my thread. No wonder I found it so frustrating and couldn’t finish a project!

Last year I bought a new machine and really started to apply myself to learning to do things properly. I began with some trial and error, supplemented with expert tuition (long distance hand-holding):┬áSkype┬ácalls to my mommy in South Africa when things went wrong. What a relief to have a machine that didn’t gobble up all my fabric!

In the past, I found it so discouraging being unable to finish a project but now that I’m able to produce something cute that puts a smile on my little girl’s face, its actually quite addictive!

I’ll post some of my recent projects shortly, watch this space…

 

 

